Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

AU researchers honoured with Innovation Fund Denmark Prizes

This year's Innovation Fund Denmark’s Innovator Prize goes to Professor Ole Green while Senior Researcher Peter Løvendahl has been awarded the Grand Solutions Prize for his efforts in breeding climate-friendly cows.

[Translate to English:] Seniorforsker Peter Løvendahl (th) og Jan Lassen fik overrakt Grand Solutions Prisen af uddannelses- og forskningsminister Søren Pind. Foto: Maiken Kestner

For the second time, Innovation Fund Denmark has awarded prizes to outstanding Danish research initiatives that bring current results to play to the benefit of society, companies and the Danish environment.

This year’s prizewinners include Senior Researcher Peter Løvendahl, Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics at Aarhus University, and Honorary Professor Ole Green, Department of Agroecology at Aarhus University.

Climate-friendly cows help ensure a prize

In 2018, Innovation Fund Denmark awarded three prizes. The Grand Solutions Prize honours three researchers whose research efforts have resulted in more climate-friendly cows that emit less methane.

Senior Researcher Peter Løvendahl received the prize together with Chief Scientific Officer Henrik Bjørn Nielsen from The Technical University of Denmark (DTU) and Project Manager Jan Lassen from the cattle association Viking Genetics. 

The prizewinners receive 1 million DKK for research activities within their respective fields of expertise.  

Read more about Peter Løvendahl and the Grand Solutions Prize here

Innovator, Professor and CEO

In addition to being Honorary Professor, Ole Green is also CEO of his own company, Agrointelli, as well as one of the leading pioneers within the development of agricultural precision spraying.

Among other things, he develops self-propelled agricultural machinery, and his innovations as well as the resulting creation of new Danish jobs were contributing factors ensuring him this year’s Innovator Prize.

Read more about Ole Green’s prize here

In addition to the prizes mentioned above, the Industrial Researcher Prize was awarded to honour three talented industrial researchers from Innovation Fund Denmark’s Talent Programme.

The Danish Minister for Higher Education and Science, Søren Pind, presented the winners with Innovation Fund Denmark’s Prizes at the annual prize event that took place at Papirøen in Copenhagen on 26 January 2018.

Read more at Innovation Fund Denmark’s website